All the rain in this town

Looking good while being rain-ready was the objective of this outfit. Wellington boots, Redfoot. Trench coat, Greenhills shopping center.  Skater dress, Dorothy Perkins.  Satchel, Marikina Riverbanks Mall.

My schedule for the day was to hop onto public transportation to travel across three cities to throw a farewell lunch, then go back to my city for a dinner date, all the while staying dry against the recent heavy rains, and cool against constant Manila humidity.
The easy answer was to wear my Redfoot wellington boots. They’re rain boots made for charging out in the rain, a fact that most people apparently find hard to believe. Whenever I wear them, someone somewhere would gush (or snicker) about how fashionable I was still being despite the rain or floods outside. When I tell them that they’re actually bota,I always get disbelieving looks.

They’re surprisingly super comfortable for rain boots: I’ve already tried standing and walking and commuting in them for hours. They’re also foldable, so in case I wanted to show up to my appointments wearing nice heels, I could just roll them up and put them in my bag. I’ve done this before, but for this outfit, my Redfoots were my shoes.

To match them, I wore my Burberry-lookalike trench coat from Greenhills, which I bought years ago, before I even knew what the brand Burberry was. (Oops? Forgive me for not knowing fashion history. I just bought them because I needed a rain coat.) There’s also my leather satchel from Marikina, and my humidity-friendly Dorothy Perkins dress worn with opaque black stockings. And, of course, my trusty umbrella, which you don’t see in this photo.

Do you have other outift ideas for the rainy weather? I’d love to hear about them in the comments below! 🙂

Title from “The Aspidistra Files” by Stars.

Leave a comment