Walls that took us years to build

I climbed the Wall of China thinking that I was going to be cold. It’s up in the mountain, we said. It’s autumn in North China, I said. I’m used to tropic heat, I thought.

I went wearing a thermal shirt and leggings underneath my layered clothes. In the bus on the way, I was so thankful for my trench coat and my boots because I’d be shivering without them.

Except…we forgot that with exertion comes heat. And since we weren’t taking the cable car up to “fully experience the climb” (and also to save money), we would be climbing the steps up, which means a LOT of exertion. Before we even reached the 100th step, I was removing my coat. Halfway up, I was rolling up my sleeves.

2014-10-25-Wall-China-outfit2
Nonshopper at the Great Wall of China!

The fact that we were there at midday also contributed to the heat, I think. Well, I guess it’s better that I had too much clothes on than too little!

This outfit: Striped top from Market! Market! tiangges. Thermal top from Terra Nova.Riding boots from Charles and Keith. Trench coat from Zara. Little Black Dress from… somewhere. Earrings and opaque stockings from a mall in Pingyao. Hat from Lucban, Quezon. Colorful scarf (tied to my bag) from South Cotabato. Bag from Metrobank.

Title from “Trees” by the Oh Hellos.

Leave a comment